Discovering numbers with Stanley

Stanley builds a vertical staircase


This is a personal account of play with Stanley, my 5 year old godson. During a visit yesterday he asked me to play with him with his (Stern) blocks. Up we went to his room where he pulled out his box of ‘tricks’. Stan was very definite about what he wanted to do, build a staircase in the 10-Box. He chose a red cube (his favourite) and put it in, then “This comes next,” picking up the 2-block, he quickly scanned the 3 and the four, side by side the stair grew. Next he said “Where’s yellow?” spied it and in it went, next he chose the green, saw that it was too big, “No not that one!” In went the orange (6), then the green (7) and 8. Next he had the 10 in his hand and pushed it to the end of the box, and between the red and the blue, (8 and the 10) he popped in the 9. At my suggestion we filled the gaps with the block partners.

Because Stanley liked building the stair we played the vertical stair game in the Counting Board. After placing all the blocks in the appropriate grooves, I took the 1-cube and placed it at the beginning of the 10-empty groove. Then I showed him the next smallest and he placed it behind the 1. After that I was able to ask for the next smallest each time which Stan placed behind the ever growing stair. In the middle of this I asked him to show me the biggest block where he pointed to the blue saying 10, next I asked which was the next biggest and he pointed to the black one (9). Although Stan was not able to use the number name he demonstrated understanding of ‘the next biggest’ That’s my boy! Because Stanley was still in his stride, I gave him a green cube asking him to place it on the first step. Of course he had to change it for the red cube! However he did place it on the step, Next I asked “What’s happened?” Although I was eagerly anticipating a response such as it’s the same as this one, he surprised me with “It’s the same as two!”

Counting Board ordering the number blocks


Our next game was to place all blocks into the Counting Board. “I want to do it!” said Stanley, who picked up the red cube and placed it in the first position. Quickly he selected the grey block and said “This definitely goes here.” I asked him if he knew the number name and said “Yes definitely two. This 3 goes here.” When selecting the 4-block I asked if he knew the name of the block and he proceeded to count the units. I distracted him by pointing to the 1 and said this is 1 and this… ?” Stanley said 2, then 3 then 4 (as I pointed to each block in turn). His actions showed that he knew exactly where each of the blocks ‘lived’ in the series. When Stan placed the orange block into the board I asked him the number name, and to my surprise, he touched the 1-cube and said 1, then 2 and with each block he touched he named them up to the 6. This was fantastic, as I only showed him once how to find the name of a block he didn’t know without counting!

My continuous observations through this play session showed that Stanley is developing a sense of numbers, and that he is actively reasoning and revealing new learning through his own discoveries which is just what the Stern programme was designed to do. I look forward to my next visit!

I do hope more pre-schoolers are introduced to the world of numbers through these wonderful hands-on educational ‘toys’ who knows perhaps Father Christmas will deliver some down the chimney!!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment